Board of Directors

Board Officers

Molly M. Peterson –  President

Molly is founder of the Slow Bicycle Society on the Eastern Shore and serves on the Fairhope Pedestrian-Bicycle Advisory Board, as well as Fairhope Library Board. She volunteers as webmaster for Fairhope’s Local Food Production Initiative. A mother of two teenagers, Molly and husband Richard Peterson live in Fairhope, where she is Librarian and Technology Coordinator at Fairhope High School. Molly has a Masters degree from University of Alabama and a B.S. from Auburn University,  Montgomery.

Irene Wegner  – Secretary

Irene recently retired from AARP as Indiana’s Associate State Director, where she led efforts to pass the strongest Complete Streets policy in the nation, prompting some Indiana communities to pass their own policies. For 10 years, she was Community Services Administrator for New Trior Township, Ill. Irene and her husband moved to Fairhope for warm weather that lets them cycle year-round. She takes Berta, her seasonally decorated green bike, all over town for both transportation and recreation. She received an MPA in Public Policy and Social Service Administration from Roosevelt University, Chicago.

Mary Hopkins Chamblin  – Treasurer

Mary occasionally bikes to work in Spanish Fort, where she is office manager for her husband Gabe’s dental practice. On weekends, you will find them on their tandem riding throughout Baldwin County. A cyclist and triathlete for 25 years, Mary is concerned about growth and the safety of cyclists and pedestrians in our area. Originally from Mobile, she and Gabe moved to Fairhope after losing their home on Mobile Bay following Hurricane Katrina. She has a marketing degree from University of Alabama and a masters in marriage and family therapy from University of Mobile.

Board Members

Meredith Montgomery

Meredith serves on the Fairhope Pedestrian-Bicycle committee, and started a monthly bike-to-school program at Fairhope Elementary School. She often bikes in town and to school with husband Josh and two young sons. In addition to publishing of the local edition of Natural Awakenings magazine, she writes regularly for the magazine’s national editorial team. A graduate of Kenyon College in Ohio, she studied studio art, environmental studies and dance. She is a certified yoga teacher, an organizer of Mobile Bay Green Drinks. and previously worked in nonprofit management.

Jennifer Vestal

Jennifer visited her grandparents in Fairhope for almost 30 years before succumbing to its southern charm and settling here with husband, Jason. Ten years, two beautiful children and a mischievous beagle later, they’re happy with their little spot on the Eastern Shore. A graduate of University of Central Florida, she owns a photography business specializing in college football, marathons and triathlons, but spends much time homeschooling Annabelle and Jaxson. Before starting a family, she and Jason traveled the globe photographing races and college teams. Their extensive travels make them grateful for their community and determined to make it even better.

Nancy Johnson

After retiring as public affairs director of the Mobile County Commission, Nancy chose to move to Fairhope knowing she could park the car and rely on her bike to live fully and locally. She joined the Trailblazers board, hoping to contribute to preserving and enhancing the trail system. She was community relations coordinator for the Mobile Police Department, and a staff writer for newspapers in Milwaukee, Denver and  Colorado Springs.

Jane Hill

As a county transportation engineer, Jane secured funds for road projects, as well as sidewalks connecting schools to neighborhoods. Recognizing that sidewalks boost property values and public safety, she petitioned for a sidewalk connector in her own N.C. neighborhood and helped mobilize an advocacy group to improve regional transit. As a journalist, she covered tax issues and transportation bills in state legislature and on Capitol Hill. She has a civil engineering degree from University of Virginia.

Josh Warren

Josh volunteers every weekday morning to stop traffic on two busy streets, allowing the parade of children in the Walking School Bus to cross safely. He and his wife have one son who attends Fairhope Elementary. After several years of service as a parent-volunteer, Josh joined the Trailblazers because he shares the group’s vision for the future of the community. An alumnus of Troy University and University of Alabama, Josh works in pharmaceutical sales. Previously, he used his skills as a certified athletic trainer to help the athletes on Fairhope High School teams for five years.

Ken Niemeyer

Ken is a Fairhope native who attended Organic and Public schools. He recently retired from Regions Bank in the trust and estate administrative area. Ken is an environmental activist and involved in several charitable trusts. He is also a Big Brother and supports various programs to aid and advance public education. His primary interest in the Trailblazers is promoting safety education for runners, walkers and bikers who actively use our trails, and programs that encourage walking and litter control. Ken is also involved in historic preservation and was active in tree planting and billboard removal programs along the Eastern Shore.  He is a graduate of University of Virginia and University of Alabama School of Law.

Charlene Lee, Director Walking School Bus

Charlene’s passion for giving children an option to walk to school was ignited by the Trailblazers’ International Walk to School Day. Under her leadership, the partnership with Fairhope Elementary School expanded to become Alabama’s first daily Walking School Bus. For her efforts, the City of Fairhope named her Volunteer of the Year in 2017. She is a graduate of Auburn University, a former high school PE teacher and gymnastics coach, and directed adventure therapy programs in adolescent psychiatry/ alternative juvenile justice settings. She championed building the original Fairhopers Community Park. Her hobbies include walking, cycling, hiking, reading and kayaking.

Past Presidents

Jim Gambill

Stanley Anderson

Ben Meisler

Rufus Bethea

Julie Bagwell

Rebecca Byrne

Richard Horne

Terry Redfearn

Walter Ernest

Mike Henriksen

2013 – 2014
Valery Wiseman De Laney


Recent Posts